Torbay & District Snooker League become UK Champions

(Last Updated On: December 1, 2018)

A team representing the Torbay & District Snooker League travelled to Leeds to take part in the Peradon UK League Snooker Annual Championship and came away as Champions.

The two day, fourteen team tournament saw the teams split into two divisions of seven teams and the Torbay side got off to a slow start, losing their opening match 3-2 to Leeds Snooker League A bouncing back to beat Thames Valley Snooker League 3-2 before ending the first day with a second defeat again by 3-2 to Southport Snooker League.

Day two saw the Torbay side open with a 4-1 win over Eccles Snooker League followed by a 3-2 win over Newbury Snooker League before a final 4-1 victory over Nuneaton Snooker League which lifted the Torbay to second in their group.

In the quarter final Torbay had a 3-1 win over The Reading Snooker League and saw a 2-0 semi-final lead brought back to a tense final frame which saw Alex Mucklow take the Torbay side to a 3-2 victory over the previously unbeaten West Midlands Snooker League.

The final saw Torbay take on the Bradford Snooker League with Alan Tunney winning the opening frame and James Lee giving Torbay a 2-0 lead, Bradford fought back to take frame three before John Halliwell clinched the fourth frame to win the match and the Championship for the Torbay side.

Torbay & District Snooker League Representitive Side complete with the Uk League Snooker Trophy (L to R)
Jason Whittaker (St Anne’s), James Lee & Alex Mucklow (Match Room) John Halliwell, Andy Astin & Alan Tunney (St Anne’s)

You can join us on our social media pages, follow us on Facebook or Twitter and keep up to date with whats going on in South Devon.

Got a news story, blog or press release that you’d like to share or want to advertise with us? Contact us


Team account for We Are South Devon.